RSS Feed

One Nation Under Dog: A Call to Action

Posted on

Recently there was a New York Times article about how 20-somethings are using their parents’ HBO Go passwords to watch Girls. I’d recommend finding an HBO Go password of your own to watch One Nation Under Dog.

I will warn you though, it’s thoroughly heartbreaking.

I cried, a lot.

It’s the “Betrayal” section of the documentary that really gets to you. I’m a little surprised I didn’t actually vomit.

One by one, workers in a a rural shelter carry one perfectly lovely dog after another into a big metal bin. They’re packed in so tightly they can barely move. Then they’re gassed — you can hear them crying. Once they’re dead, the bin is opened up, a litter of puppies is put in on top of them and the process is repeated. Then a garbage truck shows up and dumps the bin full of dogs into the back of the truck. 

It was one of the worst three minutes of my life. All I could think about was how that could have been any one of our mutts, who made their ways to Connecticut from rural shelters in the south.

I was, however, encouraged to see a man from nearby Colchester, CT who was taking aggressive and hard to adopt dogs out of the shelters and rehabilitating them. I’m still contemplating getting in my car and heading down to Colchester to hug him.

I’m also thinking about heading to Tennessee to buy a piece of furniture from the people running the awesome Snooty Giggles rescue.

I think it’s pretty clear, that we here at Rescued Mutts believe 100% in rescuing animals. I’ve personally spent the last three weeks trapping a family of cats (a mom and three kittens) that were living under my Nana’s shed, and finding them homes. As I type, my dog is passed out on the couch next to me, and one of my cats is sleeping by my feet. The other cat is passed out on the table but I can’t bring myself to kick him off because this documentary is making me a bigger pushover than usual. Every one of them is a rescue.

I have a laundry list of qualms with the dog breeding industry, and watching this documentary has reinforced  every one of them. Why, in God’s name, have we not made it mandatory to spay and neuter your pets?

The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.

–Mohandas Gandhi

Until we come to our senses, and greatly reduce the number of unwanted animals through strictly enforced spay and neuter regulations, our best bet is low-cost spay and neuter programs. Even if you’re not in the market to adopt an animal, reach out to your local shelters and rescue groups and figure out what you can do to help. Even a small donation of time or money might mean saving a life, or helping a dog get spayed. Also, consider writing to your local politicians (especially if you live in an area with shelter overcrowding) and encourage them to find a solution to stop the problems before they start.

(Please be sure to repost  and share this entry. It might be unpleasant to think about but that doesn’t make the problem go away.)

About TheresaMC

Basically, I'm a reader and a writer, just trying to negotiate the changing world of publishing.

5 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Writer on the Prowl and commented:

    If you’ve got HBO, be sure not to miss this documentary.

    Reply
  2. I agree that rescue is the way to go and try and promote this message. There is still something to be said about reputable breeders who passionately love their dogs, and only sell puppies under a strict non breeding contract. I will happily share this post..and bring myself to watch the movie…
    Shannon

    Reply
    • Reputable breeders have a place, but I wish it was much, much, much smaller. We all know there are plenty of breed specific rescues out there filled with great purebred dogs, many of which originally came from reputable breeders. Until we get the number of animals in shelters under control, I just can’t bring myself to consider any breeders to be responsible (which is the official PETA stance).

      Reply
  3. Fair enough. I find PETA to be a bit on the extreme side. In a perfect world, we would be able to spread this message, reputable breeders would stop breeding for a few years, people would come together for the greater good of the shelter dogs, and designer dogs, greeders and puppy mills would become non-existent.

    I can say that any future dogs I own WILL be rescue dogs, and that you and I agree we want to do our part to spread this message.

    Together in dogs,
    Shannon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

