RSS Feed

The Buddy Project

Posted on

From Pixlfarmer, Flickr Creative Commons

Here in Connecticut we’ve got a great local rescue organization, and I was patrolling their site for training class information. While on the Our Companions website, I came across a great humane education program. The “Buddy Project” partners at risk youth with professional trainers. The kids learn how to train dogs through positive reinforcement, and eventually get to teach shelter dogs the behaviors needed to help them get adopted.

It’s a little like a new twist on the pups in prison programs, and I can’t even express how great I think those are. I wonder if I can hire one of those kids to come over and help me get Maybelle to stop trying to boss other dogs around.

About TheresaMC

Basically, I'm a reader and a writer, just trying to negotiate the changing world of publishing.

One response »

  1. That doggies face says to me “I can do this alllll day long but just give me that cookie already”….he’s cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

