RSS Feed

What’s Your State Dog?

Posted on

I don't really know what a Blue Lacy is but it's Texas' State Dog.

I didn’t even realize we had “State Dogs” but apparently we do. Some are pretty predictable. Maryland picked the Chesapeake Bay Retriever, and the Catahoula Leopard Dog is claimed by Louisiana (my uncle had one, the old Cajuns called it a “Devil Dog”). Guess who claims the Boston Terrier? Others are a little more mystifying, like Pennsylvania’s choice of the Great Dane.

But while reading about State Dogs I learned about the Blue Lacey, Texas’ dog of choice. I had no idea that was a breed…and it kind of looks like a mutt with a fancy name.

As far as I can tell, Connecticut doesn’t have one. I’m guessing it’s because we never created a breed. So I’d like to nominate our mutts for the title.

About TheresaMC

Basically, I'm a reader and a writer, just trying to negotiate the changing world of publishing.

One response »

  1. Hummm… I wonder what Virginia’s is?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

