RSS Feed

Doggy Sleepover

This weekend Maybelle and Tulla had a sleepover. It was actually very eye-opening for me. May has only been with me for a little over a month, and so we’re still getting to know each other. One of the more bothersome things I’ve noticed is her tendency to guard food from my cats. (The other day I emptied her bag of dog food into a plastic bin, folded the bag an stuck it into a little recycling bin I have next to the garbage. When Jerry, my fat cat, wandered by it, May leaped up and put her body between the empty food bag and the cat. WTF?) But as we discovered after having Tulla around for 24 hours, May doesn’t seem to have the same problem with dogs. (I can only assume she once lived with mean, greedy cats.)

I also discovered a couple of fenced in playgrounds behind the YMCA daycare near my house. Since no one is there on the weekend, I decided to lock myself in with the dogs and let them go to town… And boy did they ever. More interestingly, May didn’t go into super-intense herding mode. Instead she seems to have learned that if she runs, the other dog will chase her. In other words, she doesn’t need to bark incessantly at the other dogs. Or perhaps it’s just because they’re getting used to each other…or Tulla told her off in doggy language. Who knows?

But I got it all on video!

About TheresaMC

Basically, I'm a reader and a writer, just trying to negotiate the changing world of publishing.

Leave a Reply

